Seeking: Summer Beach Reads

I’m going on vacation soon (soon, but not soon enough! I’m too excited to wait!!) and it’s not my typical thing. Normally I’m a plan-every-minute sort of gal, but this time we’ll be relaxing on a beach, swimming lazily, maybe exploring the local area if we get ambitious, and drinking ourselves under the table (woo all-inclusive resort!).
And I hate to admit it but I’m really anxious that I’ll get bored of relaxing.
But, thanks to the wonders of technology, I’ll be able to bring as many books as I care to via a well-stocked Kindle.
Except I don’t know what to read.
I like to read a lot of things, but I gravitate toward the contemplative, heavy stuff. And that’s just not going to work for the beach and the “vacation” sensibility. I need to lighten up.
I liked In Her Shoes and The Secret Life of Bees, but those sorts aren’t my usual repertoire and I’m not sure what to look for. I would almost categorize Leviathan Wakes–a sci-fi epic–as this sort, because it was engaging and could be read on a “lighter” level, but that’s an unusual fit.
So, here’s what I’m looking for: light but engaging stories available digitally. No horror or gritty fantasy (looking at you, Game of Thrones). Genre fantasy/sci-fi is good but only if it is a bit original (ex. I read The Black Unicorn and it was TERRIBLE).
Can y’all help me out? Recommend anything amazing?

4 Comments

Filed under Reading

4 responses to “Seeking: Summer Beach Reads

  1. For what it’s worth, I really enjoyed Daniel Price’s THE FLIGHT OF THE SILVERS. It’s a long book, but moves pretty fast. Chuck Wendig’s Miriam Black series is worth a read (more thriller than horror, in my book, or maybe a splash of urban fantasy), beginning with BLACKBIRDS, and is pretty well suited for a rapid-paced beach read.

  2. I’m a big fan of the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. It’s full of action balanced with quite a bit of humour and an easy read.

Leave a comment